Learning to learn:

A special pathway enabling all our young people

to achieve as much as they possibly can and to flourish in adult life




School Governors

The governing body is a group of volunteers from within the school and the local community. Our main responsibilities are:

  • acting as a critical friend to the school
  • providing strategic direction
  • ensuring accountability
  • promoting high standards of education and achievement
  • planning the school’s long-term future
  • setting the school’s aims and values
  • assisting in the appointment of senior members of staff, including the Headteacher

We meet as a Full Governing Body four times a year, and we each have different responsibilities to fulfill, including serving on sub-committees, such as Children and Learning and the Resources Committee.

Being a governor is deeply rewarding, but it does require a commitment. Governors are expected to complete induction training and to take full advantage of a detailed programme of training to help develop knowledge and practice.

If you are interested in joining West Hill’s Governing Body and feel that you have the skills and experience to work with fellow governors to lead the school, please email Claire Cook (clerk@west-hill.surrey.sch.uk) to arrange an informal discussion in the first instance.

Chair Mrs R Goodwin
Governors Mr D MacLennan
Mr M Burke
Mr N Fisher (Parent)
Mrs B Read (Parent)
Mr R Estee-Wade
Miss R Dowell (Staff)
Mrs J Nettleton (Headteacher)

Below is the current list of Governors and their attendance in academic year 2017/18

Governor Start of Term End of Term Attendance 2017/18
Rosemary Goodwin 01/11/2014 31/10/2018 – extended 3/4
Martin Burke 10/12/2014 09/12/2018 – extended 4/4
Rebecca Dowell 01/09/2017 31/08/2021 3/4
Ricardo Estee-Wale 20/11/2017 19/11/2021 2/3
Douglas MacLennan 08/12/2015 07/12/2019 3/4
Judy Nettleton 01/01/2002 Ex-offico 4/4
Becky Read 08/05/2018 07/05/2022 2/2
Nigel Fisher 06/11/2018 05/11/2022
Ian Wilson 02/10/2017 23/09/2018 (resigned) 3/4

Resignations for 2017/18 academic year

Governor Start of Term End of Term Attendance 2017/18
Ray Marsh 08/09/2015 07/08/2019 – Resigned 31/07/2018 3/4

Below is the  declared governor interests for the academic year 2017/18

Name of Governor Date of Appointment Name of Organisation Nature of Business Nature of Interest Date declared
Martin Burke 10.12.2014 GLF Schools Education Trustee 28.09.2017
Becca Dowell 01.09.2017 West Hill School Education Teacher 24.09.2018
Ricardo Estee-Wale 20.11.2017 Surrey County Council Education Educational Psychologist 25.09.2018
Rosemary Goodwin 01.11.2014 Rugosa Consultancy Ltd Information Technology Director 13.09.2016
Douglas MacLennan 08.12.2015 Crown Agents Bank Finance Employee 21.09.2018
Judy Nettleton 01.01.2002 West Hill School Education Headteacher 28.09.2017
Becky Read 08.05.2018 Surrey Family Voice Charity Volunteer 25.09.2018
Nigel Fisher 06.11.2018 Volunteer